Hi all… A short post as I recover from the slammin’ cold that chased me back from my visit.

It was wonderful. Every second of it. Food–much. Pubs. Laughter. Welcome. Walks. Amazing conversations. And did I say food? Janet and Clive are the two greatest hosts in the history of my life; they create heritage-rich Christmases right of Charles Dickens (there–I thought I’d get to writers and writing sooner or later.)

photo-100

Tea at an old estate one day (anda bad photo to show for it)…

DSCN0661A day at the races at Towcester (r to l: Belinda, my racing advisor ex-jockey Tyler ), and Belinda’s husband Tony (feeling the cold)…

Jason, the day’s winner…DSCN0662

And one of my winners….  DSCN0663

Many pub visits (sans photos)….

And, of course, Xmas… (Belinda and the table…)

DSCN0649DSCN0645More soon. Tomorrow, back to writing about writing–and the idea that not even cleverness will disguise the laziness of cliches.

 

Happy New Year, you!

